Tags

, , , , , , , ,

NBTM_PieGirls_Banner

Lauren will be awarding a $20 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wouldn’t you like to know more about the author?  She graciously agreed to answer my blog questions.  May I introduce Lauren…..

What is your greatest temptation:

In men:  Oh, my! I’d have to say another that looks like Mark Wahlburg. Something about his boyish grin. And the amazing abs. And he seems like a nice guy. The guy next door, which is always appealing!

In food:   I’m a sucker for sweets! I love a great pie … and I’ve included my grandmother’s recipes for Lemon Sponge Pie, Chess Pie, and Chocolate Pecan Pie in the back of Pie Girls! Yummy!

In clothes:    I love a dress that you can throw on and it always looks fabulous. I adore anything BCBG Max Azria.

What is your greatest weakness (example: buying shoes)? Like Searcy in Pie Girls, I have a bit of a shoe predilection. Of course, I can’t afford Jimmy Choo or Prada, but I certainly have fun dreaming about owning them!

If you could have any kind of car, what would it be? I actually love my Prius. I’d love (someday) to have a newer, shinier one with a sunroof and the new high-tech dashboard.

Your dream home – mountains or ocean? I’d love a home in the mountains overlooking a huge, clear-blue lake. I grew up visiting one of the Finger Lakes in Central New York, and I’ve always loved the thought of having a vacation home there someday.

Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, how do you overcome it? Thankfully, no!! I do, occasionally, get stuck on a chapter or character I’m developing. What works best for me is talking it through with one of my author friends or my mom!

What are you currently working on?   I’m currently writing the sequel to Dancing Naked in Dixie, which was my second novel. Dixie tells the story of Julia Sullivan, a NYC travel writer sent to the Deep South to cover a story in Eufaula, Alabama. When she arrives, and begins her research, she gets much more than she bargained for when she discovers the city’s historic district is in danger of being replaced with a condominium development. Julia ends up falling in love with the city and fights for the preservation of Eufaula’s historic landmarks.

Are you nervous about friends reading your book? LOL. Always. I want to create the best, most satisfying novel possible. I want my friends to enjoy the book and my readers to be happy!

Where are you from? I’m from Upstate New York, about 30 minutes from the Canadian border. My entire family is still there, and we enjoy going back for long summer trips (to escape the hot and humid Mobile, Ala. weather) and in the winter time so that my boys can enjoy playing in the snow!

If you could hop on a plane now, where would you go? Definitely Santorini, Greece. I’ve always been fascinated by the people, food, and culture. The photographs are amazing. After reading about the island in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, I decided I have to go someday!

BLURB:

Princess, Southern belle, and spoiled-rotten social climber Searcy Roberts swore on a stack of Bibles she’d never return home to Fairhope, Alabama. After marrying her high school sweetheart and moving to Atlanta, Searcy embraces big-city life—Carrie Bradshaw style.

But now, Searcy has a teeny, tiny problem. Her husband’s had a mid-life crisis. He’s quit his job, cancelled her credit cards, and left her for another man.

Searcy returns to Fairhope, ready to lick her wounds. But when her mother falls ill, she’s is thrust into managing the family business—only to discover the beloved bakery is in danger of closing its doors forever.

Enlisting the help of the adorable bike store owner next door, an array of well-heeled customers, and her soon-to-be ex-husband, Searcy hatches the plan of the century to save Pie Girls.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pie Girls CoverEXCERPT – Chapter 9

“Are you sure that the baby’s mine?”

I feel faint and the room starts to tilt and swim. “Whatever are you talking about?” I demand, doing my best to sound indignant. “Of course it’s ours.”

Alton turns his body to face mine. “I’m asking, because it’s impossible,” he explains.

My lips part. I try to form words. What is he trying to tell me?

“Searcy,” Alton leans closer. ” I had a vasectomy. Six months ago.”

“What?” I squeak. “How? When?”

“You were in California with Phillipa.”

My hands begin to quiver. I brace myself on the sofa.

Vasectomy?

Six. Months. Ago.

I feel sick. I want to throw up. Or launch myself out the window.

My husband’s gaze doesn’t waver. He’s serious.

“You see,” Alton continues gently. “The baby can’t be mine.”

I  can’t speak or take a breath. All at once, I am furious. How dare he do this to me? Of all of the underhanded, rotten, selfish things to do to a wife. How could he take this away from me? From us?

Usually, I’m a calm, rational person. But without another thought, my right hand clenches into a fist. My fingers curl tight and the tips press into my palm. My arm bends at the elbow and I draw my body back, gathering momentum.

take aim.

As my first jets through the air, cutting a path straight for my husband’s gorgeous face, everything screams to a slow-motion finish.

His face registers a mix of doubt, surprise, and then…in the last second…out-right terror.

I punch Alton square in the mouth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Lauren Clark writes contemporary Southern novels sprinkled with sunshine, suspense, AuthorPic (2)and secrets. A former TV news anchor, Lauren adores flavored coffee, local book stores, and anywhere she can stick her toes in the sand. Her big loves are her family, paying it forward, and true-blue friends.

She is the author of four award-winning novels, Dancing Naked in Dixie, Stay Tuned, Stardust Summer, and Pie Girls, as well as a short story, A Very Dixie Christmas, published in the Merry & Bright holiday collection. Lauren is a member of the Gulf Coast Writers Association and the Mobile Writers Guild. Check out her website at http://www.laurenclarkbooks.com.

Website

http://www.laurenclarkbooks.com

Blog

http://www.laurenclarkbooks.com/blog

Twitter

@LaurenClark_Bks

Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lauren-Clark/235315706518284

Pinterest

Kindle: http://amzn.to/X8rCq1
Nook: http://bit.ly/1pHBVuo

iBooks:  https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/pie-girls/id906182442?mt=11

NBTM_PieGirls_CoverBanner (2)FOR MORE FUN EXCERPTS, FOLLOW LAUREN ON HER TOUR:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/08/nbtm-tour-pie-girls-by-lauren-clark.html

