Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Before the interview, I want to thank Linda for helping me celebrate my new release, That Monroe Girl, which is out today.

And Ilona has been kind enough to bare it all today!

What is your greatest temptation…           

In men: Anyone with a sense of humor who can make me laugh.

In food: Gooey chocolate anything!

In clothes: I tend to wear casual clothes most of the time.

What is your greatest weakness? Well, besides chocolate, puppies and kittens tend to make me into mush. Yes, I’m one of the rare ones who likes both dogs and cats.

If you could have any kind of car, what would it be? I would say either a late fifties Thunderbird, or a mid-sixties Mustang. I think those were two of the coolest cars ever made.

Your dream home-mountains or ocean? That’s a hard one. I love both, but if I had to choose, I’d take the ocean. There’s nothing that can relax me faster than the surf coming in.

What inspired you to become a writer? I think I always wanted to write. When I was a child, I made books with stories I made up. My first book was about a snowman who melted on the last page. Funny, because I lived in Los Angeles at the time. In school, the teachers complimented me on my creative writing.

Do you have a daily writing routine? If so, please share. Morning is taken up with marketing and personal business. If I have time, I’ll work on my wip. After lunch, I get chores finished then work on writing for the rest of the afternoon. Evenings are a time I spend with Mark, my husband.

What is your favorite book? Little Women by Louisa Alcott. I’ve re-read it many times.

What is your favorite movie? Hands down, it’s Casablanca. Seen that many times.

Who is your favorite historical figure? For some reason, since I saw the movie Gettysburg, I’ve been drawn to Joshua Chamberlain. I’ve read about him both in the war and after. He seemed like such a brave but compassionate man.

In your books, who is your favorite hero and please introduce him? Even though I’ve loved every one of them, that includes bad boy Tim Olson in Iris Rainbow, I guess it’s true that the new one is always your favorite. Jake Spencer in That Monroe Girl, rejected the ranch life to become a news reporter in 1880s Tombstone. He’s tough, but he only uses his gun as a last resort.

Who is your favorite heroine and please introduce her? Ditto on the answer to the last question. Cat Monroe has been raised as a proper lady in Virginia, but finds life dismaying in the rough Arizona Territory. Deep down, she has more grit than even she realizes.

 What do you have out now? That Monroe Girl is being officially released today.

Blurb:

Cat Monroe arrives in Tombstone, Arizona searching for her father and brothers, who left Virginia for the West right after the Civil War. With the help of newspaper reporter Jake Spencer, she finds her family and a whole peck of trouble. She’s falling for the newspaperman, but she discovers his family and hers are feuding over water rights. When her father finally accepts that she is his daughter, he wants to marry her off to a rich neighbor who has a dark past.

Excerpt:

“I told you this wasn’t finished, Spencer!” And

he tried to land a fist on Jake’s jaw, an attempt which

was deflected. Jake grabbed him by the shoulders and

threw him to the floor. Henderson tripped Jake, andThatMonroeGirl_w10071_850

they rolled over, trading blows.

As the crowd gathered to watch the two

combatants, Sheriff Cortland and one of his deputies

pulled them apart. “What is going on here?”

Henderson pointed at Jake. “He was interfering

with my intended.”

Cat, who was watching with horror from the

sidelines, belted out, “I’m not your intended!”

The sheriff thought for a moment. “Mr. Henderson,

since you are who you are, I’m going to let you two sort

this out peacefully. If you can’t do it peacefully, I’m

putting you both in jail.”

By that time, Albert and John had joined them.

Henderson turned to Albert and pointed at Cat. “I wish

you would control your daughter.”

Cat felt her whole body tense with a desire to get a

gun and blow Henderson to kingdom come. “I can’t

take this any more!” she exploded. “Father, I told you

how I feel. If you insist on Mr. Henderson courting me,

I will have to move out.”

“Cat, listen—” Albert moved to put a hand on her

shoulder, but she shook him off.

“Leave me alone! Why can’t everybody leave me

alone!” She ran out the side door and into the carriage

lot, where she untied her mask, leaned on one of the

hitching posts, and burst into tears full of hurt, anger,

and frustration.

New releases anytime soon? I have a short mystery coming out. No release date yet. It’s with my characters from Prime Catch, Amos and Sarah Darcy.

Where can eager fans find you?

My web site is http://www.ilonafridl.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ilona-Fridl/127297334022981?ref=hl

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3416410.Ilona_Fridl

CIMG0484About the Author: Ilona Fridl was born in sunny California where she spent the first twenty years of her life. Dreaming up stories took up a lot of her time. She then followed her parents to Wisconsin where she met her husband, Mark. They started a locksmithing business, but there were still stories in her head. Finally, she started putting them on paper―actually, a computer. The rest is history. She has an adult daughter and a granddaughter.

