Tags

, , ,

CarbonLab joomla 1.7 Template Today, Linda is interviewing Leslie.  Oh dear!

What is your greatest temptation:

            In men: I’m a sucker for a man in uniform. That works well, since my husband spent more than twenty years in the Navy.

            In food: Cheese! I know it’s bad for me, but I’ll put cheese on absolutely everything, the more, the better.

            In clothes: Comfort and ease of use are my biggest requirements. If I have to iron it, I won’t buy it. I prefer dresses because they’re simple, comfortable, and look great, too.

What is your greatest weakness (example: buying shoes)?

I adore scarves. I probably have a hundred of them, and I’m forever buying more. I love how you can totally change an outfit by adding a scarf.

If you could have any kind of car, what would it be?

Hmm. That’s a tough one. Probably a convertible Mini Cooper. Those are so cute and zippy, I think they would be fun to drive.

Your dream home – mountains or ocean?

Ocean. I’ve lived near various oceans for the past eighteen years, and I can’t imagine a life where I can’t lose myself in the music of the waves and gulls whenever I wish. Even in the winter, the salt air soothes my soul and feeds my creative mind.

What inspired you to become a writer?

I’ve always loved to make up characters and imagine grand adventures for them. When I was a child, I made up thousands of stories for my dolls and stuffed animals, and that translated easily to writing when I got older.

Do you have a daily writing routine?  If so, please share.

I wish I did. I try to make time to write at least a scene a day, but my schedule is erratic at best. I’m a night shift nurse by trade, so some days I’m simply too exhausted to write. I usually manage at least five thousand words a week most of the time, though.

What is your favorite book?

The Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson. If I had to choose only one book, it would be the first in that series, The Final Empire. I’ve read all of them at least a dozen times, and I find something new every time.

What is your favorite movie?

Ok, I’ll admit it – I’m a Tolkien nerd. My favorite movie(s) of all time is the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I can watch them back to back for days and never tire of it.

Who is your favorite historical figure?

I’d have to say Charlemagne. During his rule, he embodied nearly every type of ruler you can imagine, from the strictest Christian emperor to the leader of the Italian Renaissance. He united much of modern-day Europe under one government, though most of that was accomplished through violent, war-mongering means. The more I study the man, the more interesting I find him and the history of his rule.

In your books, who is your favorite hero and please introduce him?

Aibek is a twenty-year-old military cadet when he is summoned back to the village of his birth. Raised by his aunt and uncle in the city, he is desperate for word of his parents and the home he’s never known. Returning isn’t easy, though. He learns that his parents are dead, and now he is expected to step into his father’s role as the mayor as the small treetop village – a challenge for someone who grew up in the shadow of an overbearing uncle on a treeless plain.

Who is your favorite heroine and please introduce her?

Kiri is Aibek’s mother, or rather, her ghost. She’s just as strong-willed as she was in life, and now she has the added task of keeping her husband, Eddrick, in line. After he gets them in trouble with the ancients, she realizes this will be a more difficult task than she had anticipated.

What do you have out now?  Excerpt, blurb, book trailers

The Last Mayor’s Son was published by Class Act Books in December 2016.

Blurb:

Twenty years after the death of his parents, Aibek must return to the forest and lead his hometown to freedom.

Villagers summon him to be their new mayor after they overthrow the small group of soldiers the ruthless Helak appointed to rule them. They need someone to help them fight off the army that seeks to regain the enemy’s brutal control. Aibek has no problem with standing and fighting. It’s the leading that has him concerned.

Distracted by the problem of teaching a placid people to defend themselves, Aibek nearly overlooks a plot to overthrow the fledgling government. Will he figure out who in the village wants him gone before it’s too late?

As he struggles to learn to lead his hometown, Aibek’s confidence is bolstered by the closeness of the community and his parents’ friends, but will he find the courage to lead his people to freedom? Or will Helak forever rule the peaceful forest?

Excerpt:

Aibek considered the implications as they walked between the scattered trees and into the forest. Why would the market road be abandoned? This led to another question in his mind. What kinds of things would the tree-dwelling villagers have to sell at market? He didn’t have long to wonder before the trees grew closer together and they stepped into the gloom of the forest.

At the edges of the trail, the trees and brush grew close and thick, obscuring most of the light from the bright sun above. Aibek stood blinking just inside the eaves of the forest for a moment, and waited for his eyes to adjust to the sudden dimness.

“We’ll move slower from here.” Serik gave a warning. “We need to watch where we set our feet. Beware of snakes on the path.”

Aibek cringed and leaned over to peek under the nearest bush, then stifled a relieved sigh. Nothing but brown leaves and a few beetles. He hadn’t even considered the dangers that might lurk within the woods. He wondered what Faruz thought of the warning, but couldn’t read any reaction on his face. Faruz was staring at a small branch that lay across the trail, perhaps wondering if it was a snake.

Aibek didn’t spend much time thinking of his friend. He was so nervous about returning to the village of his birth that he was more than a little afraid he might lose his breakfast. He took a deep breath to steady his nerves, and thought he rather liked the earthy scent of the forest. He glanced around at the trees and brush, and thought he saw something move quickly behind a bush. He squinted into the dim forest, but whatever it was had been too fast. He could see nothing but the leaves swaying gently in the warm breeze.

Available on Amazon at http://a.co/c00isJa

Or from Class Act Books at http://www.classactbooks.com/young-adult/the-last-mayor-s-son-7622016-12-14-18-12-01-detail

New releases anytime soon?  The sequel to The Last Mayor’s Son will likely be released by the end of 2017

Where can eager fans find you?  On my website at https://www.leslieeheath.com/index.html

On Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/LeslieEHeathAuthor/

On Twitter at https://twitter.com/leheath_author

Thank you, Leslie, for a fun interview and your candor. Your book sounds well worth a read!  All the best!!  Linda

 

 

