Tags

, ,

What is your greatest temptation:

In women:

Not really sure how to answer that. Personal stuff isn’t something I really think about much anymore- bit old for that kind of thing and it’s not healthy to contemplate pointless distractions that don’t lead anywhere!

In food:

I love most foods so it’s difficult to say. I’ll eat most things apart from offal and anything overly sweet. That said, I seem to mostly live on hastily made sandwiches and lots of Coke.

In clothes:

I’m one of those people who think of clothes as a bit of a chore- something one has to wear living in a cold country at a relatively high latitude. I have a few pairs of jeans and several t-shirts and that’s pretty much what I wear day in day out- that way I don’t have to think too much about clothes, just grab something and put it on.

What is your greatest weakness (example: like mine cars)?

Probably food. Oh and daydreaming when I should be doing something meaningful.

 

If you could have any kind of car, what would it be?

I’d have a very expensive one, so I could sell it and get some decent money. I’ve never owned a car nor had the spare money for driving lessons so if I did miraculously acquire one I would (a) be very very suspicious, and (b) try and sell it immediately. I’m used to public transport for longer journeys, and if it’s less than around 10 miles I generally walk.

 

Your dream home – mountains or ocean?

Probably somewhere near the sea, as long as the town has decent train or bus services

 

What inspired you to become a writer?  To write this book?

I’ve always written stories, pretty much from as soon as I could string words together. It’s the one thing I felt that I could do reasonably well, and that was borne out by my school qualifications, which were not great. I wasn’t really cut out for the world of being a corporate drone and the daily grind, although oddly that’s what writing does sometimes feel like- a bit of a grind- when the inspiration isn’t there. But it turns up eventually.

 

Do you have a daily writing routine?  If so, please share.

I just try to do as much as I can- whether that’s number of new words written or pages edited or a mixture of the two. I try not to set unrealistic targets but at the same time I do try to push myself to do a reasonable amount. I’ll never be one of these people who take part in these “Nanowrimo” competitions to see who can churn out a hundred thousand words in a month. I know I’ll get there eventually so I try not to stress about the time it takes.

 

I have no particular method. I write, I write some more, I keep writing, some of it’s good and I keep it, some of it’s bad and I scrap it, some of it’s ok and I edit it. Sometimes it’s a struggle to wade through the “creative mire” as I call it, and at other times I just sit down and it kind if happens without my really knowing.

That messy, chaotic way of working won’t work for everyone, so I can’t necessarily recommend it. It works for me though.

What is your favorite book?

That’s a difficult one as I have several that really moved me or affected me in some way.

Alan Garner’s “The Weirdstone of Brisingamen” is the one that, when I read it as a child, made me realise that yes, I would be an author. It kind of made that decision for me. Others that had a profound effect include Clive Barker’s “Weaveworld”, C J Cherryh’s “Chronicles of Morgaine”, and everything that Cecilia Dart-Thornton has ever written.

 What is your favorite movie?

Much easier. Blade Runner. The idea of what it truly means to be human is of endless fascination to me, and Blade Runner is a stunning piece of work for that and many other reasons.

 

Who is your favorite historical figure?

Difficult to pick one, but I’d probably pick a classical author- George Orwell or Aldous Huxley. I also admire the works of philosopher Bertrand Russell so he might be a good choice as well.

 In your books, who is your favorite hero and please introduce him?

Heroes are pretty think on the ground in the Aona books, but let’s pick Vornen- a failure of a man, a drug addict, a self-pitying loner… who despite all his own attempts to do otherwise, helps to make a stand against the twin evils that threaten the world.

 

Who is your favorite heroine and please introduce her?

Again, she’s not really a heroine, but Nia is a multi-faceted, complex young lady and far more than she initially appears to be. Despite spending much of the story across the five books frightened out of her wits, she still has an acid tongue (not literally, although that would also be useful) and a sharp wit. You may or may not warm to her- but she’s my favourite of all my characters.

 

What do you have out now?  Excerpt, blurb, book trailers

The complete Aona series (five novels), Summer’s Dark Waters (YA fantasy / sci-fi adventure) and Disintegration (collection of short stories I’ve written over the years)

My Amazon page has links to the individual books and reviews: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Simon-Williams/e/B00P0ZZYS8/

 

What’s coming?

My main two at the moment are the sequel to Summer’s Dark Waters (my YA fantasy / sci-fi adventure) – currently titled The Light From Far Below- and a standalone novel for adults which I just *know* I’m going to have trouble with in terms of putting it into a genre. But I’m quite excited about it so far (36,000 words in) – as it doesn’t feel like anything else I’ve ever written or indeed that anyone else has (to my knowledge). So I’m enjoying crafting this one.
The Light from far Below will be illustrated by the same artist I collaborated with on Summer’s Dark Waters. I’m fortunate to have someone who seems to share my vision for the characters and scenes in my work!

 

Where can we find you?  (Social media, web site, etc.)

Website – www.simonwilliamsauthor.com

Amazon page: http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00P0ZZYS8

Facebook fan page: https://www.facebook.com/simonwilliamsauthor

Twitter: @SWilliamsAuthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6094097.Simon_Williams

 

Summer’s Dark Waters:

Amazon UK:

Amazon US:

Oblivion’s Forge (Book I in the Aona series):

Amazon UK:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Oblivions-Forge-Aona-Book-1-ebook/dp/B0082XW04G/

Amazon US:

 

 

 

 

 

